Spiritual poetry by Lisa Michaelis

 

Adi Shankara writes about the final joy of realization of the Absolute, where the student cries out: "The ego has disappeared. I have realized my identity with Brahman [the word for the absolute reality] and so all my desires have melted away. I have risen above my ignorance and my knowledge of this seeming universe. What is this joy that I feel? Who shall measure it? I know nothing but joy, limitless, unbounded! The ocean of Brahman is full of nectar--the joy of the Atman [the individual Self]. The treasure I have found there cannot be described in words. The mind cannot conceive of it. My mind fell like a hailstone into that vast expanse of Brahman's ocean. Touching one drop of it, I melted away and became one with Brahman. And now, though I return to human consciousness, I abide in the joy of the Atman. Where is this universe? Who took it away? Has it merged into something else? A while ago, I beheld it--now it exists no longer. This is wonderful indeed! Here is the ocean of Brahman, full of endless joy. How can I accept or reject anything? Is there anything apart or distinct from Brahman? Now, finally and clearly, I know that I am the Atman, whose nature is eternal joy. I see nothing, I hear nothing, I know nothing that is separate from me."

 

After realization transformation & integration follow, until we are established in the truth and become completely liberated. We better do not fall into the trap to believe we reached somewhere, for in reality there is no higher or lower, no past nor future, but oneness and eternity. 

 

If you are interested in spiritual awakening you might like my last book with 108 poems from the source. 

 

Lisa Michaelis

 

Picture by Kurt Sikora

Danke Kurtaki